Joachim Frank

Professor, Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biophysics

and Department of Biology

Columbia University

Distinguished Scientist in Structural Biology, Wadsworth Center

Distinguished Professor, Department of Biomedical Sciences

School of Public Health, SUNY Albany

HHMI Investigator

Research Interests

We investigate the mechanism of translation on the ribosome by using cryo-electron microscopy and single-particle reconstruction. Using these methods, and flexible fitting of X-ray structures, the dynamics of the decoding and translocation mechanisms are revealed. More information on: Columbia page (link to Frank lab); HHMI page

Selected Publications

Structural insights into cognate vs. near-cognate discrimination during decoding (2011), X. Agirrezabala, E. Schreiner, L. G. Trabuco, J. Lei, R. F. Ortiz-Meoz, K. Schulten, R. Green, and J. Frank, EMBO J, 30, 1497-1507. (more ...)

Visualizing the transfer-messenger RNA as the ribosome resumes translation (2010), J. Fu, Y. Hashem, I. Wower, J. Lei, H. Y. Liao, C. Zwieb, J. Wower, J. Frank EMBO J, 20, 3819-3825. (more ...)

Characterization of the nuclear export adaptor protein Nmd3 in association with the 60S ribosomal subunit (2010), J. Sengupta, C. Bussiere, J. Pallesen, M. West, A. W. Johnson, and J. Frank, J. Cell Biol., 189, 1079-1086. (more ...)

Ribosome-induced changes in elongation factor Tu conformation control GTP hydrolysis (2009), E. Villa, J. Sengupta, L. G. Trabuco, J. LeBarron, W. T. Baxter, T. R. Shaikh, R. A. Grassucci, P. Nissen, M. Ehrenberg, K. Schulten, and J. Frank, Proc Natl Acad Sci U S A., 106, 1063-1068. (more ...)

Comprehensive molecular structure of the eukaryotic ribosome (2009), D. J. Taylor, B. Devkota, A. D. Huang, M. Topf, E. Narayanan, A. Sali, S. C. Harvey, J. Frank, Structure, 17, 1591-1604. (more ...)

Lab Members with RNA-related projects

Wen Li (research scientist)

Sanchaita Das (postdoc)

Amedee DesGeorges (postdoc)

Jesper Pallesen (postdoc)

Bingxin Shen (postdoc)

Cheri Hampton (postdoc)

Yaser Hashem (postdoc)

Nesh Sharma (postdoc)

Bo Chen (graduate student)

Drew Kennedy (graduate student)

Danny Nam Ho (graduate student)

Chuan-Chao Lv (visiting graduate student)